The Offering #sixsunday #yalit

sixsundayheaderGood Sunday morning!  My very first post comes to you a mere two days before Christmas.  Love this time of year.  Pretty snow on the trees, people humming carols.  I hope you’re as ready as you’d like to be for the holidays.

My six today comes from a novella I’m getting ready to sub out to some publishers.  It was a story I wrote based on a picture prompt, and I’m loving the way it’s growing.

This scene comes when Selene, her brother and father, are caught in the woods after the sun sets and have run afoul of the handsome and mysterious warlock who lives there.

I hiked up my blue skirts and white cloak and stepped over the edge of the sleigh in search of the step. Mr. Barlow offered me his hand, but I ignored him. “I know a gentleman when I meet one, and no amount of false chivalry will change my mind about you.”

He tilted his head, and I could have sworn he chuckled within the darkness of his cloak, but decided I must have been mistaken.

Once down and knee-deep in snow, I tugged Charlie out while Father pushed at his rear. When my brother finally scrambled down the step, I tucked him under my cloak with my arm around him.

Oh oh, they’re in trouble now.  What they have in the sleigh is barely enough to feed their family for the coming week.

Come back to visit again next Sunday for another wee snippet of Selene’s troubles.

To see the rest of the participants, please click on the logo at the top.  To leave me a comment, please click on the speech bubble beside the title.  Cheers, and have a merry Christmas!

Leave a Reply

